From now on he’s got two hearts beating in his scale-clad chest, and two mighty wings on his back. In the faraway planet of two moons, he was born again as a dragon… but would it make him any less human?

The Dragon Inside, a bestselling series by Alex Sapegin, is comprised of a total of four books: 

Becoming the Dragon
Wings On My Back
– A Tale of Violence
– Three Wars

It is a saga of portal traveling, bodily transformations, reincarnation and epic combat, but first and foremost a story of discovering and reclaiming one’s true self.

Having unwittingly stumbled into the site of a scientific experiment, Andy gets teleported to the faraway planet of Ilanta, inhabited by both human and supernatural beings. In this new world, he will encounter all kinds of exciting adventures and grim challenges, mastering his newly developed magic skills, befriending orcs, elves, and dragons, fighting the good fight, and eventually continuing on his quest for justice reincarnated as a dragon.

It was obvious right from the get-go that destiny had something unique in store for Andy Kerimov, a small-town teenager who survived a direct stroke of lightning which left him with immunity to electronic devices and extraordinary magic powers just waiting to be released.

Teleported to the fairytale world of Ilanta, Andy gets no cordial welcome: he is captured, chained up and sold into slavery but not before he accidentally activated an ancient artifact and set free Karegar the Dragon who would later become his mentor and foster father. When fatally wounded, Andy chooses to undergo an ancient ritual to be reborn as a dragon, a.k.a. a Master of Heaven.

He will have to go a long way before settling into his new body and mastering his newly acquired powers. On his way, he will make loyal friends and bitter enemies, going through fire and ice, defending the right and taking the weak under his wing. Little does he know though that he is destined to play a central part in an epic conflict soon to break out where the future of the two planets, as well as his now-faraway homeland, would be at stake…



Sign up for the Brightly newsletter to get book recommendations, reading tips, and seasonal inspirations.

Becoming the Dragon. Book 1

Portal traveling, especially an unplanned one, is hardly a walk in the park, so Andrei Kerimov had better brace himself for all sorts of annoying surprises and deadly quests. And becoming a dragon may prove to not be the biggest challenge of them all… Becoming the Dragon is a fast-paced, action-packed story of a teenage portal traveller-turned-dragon set in the faraway fairytale world of Ilanta. It is the first book of The Dragon Inside, the bestselling series comprised of a total of

Pre-order 'A Cruel Tale'


Wings on my back. Book 2

Buy Now for $6.95

The Dragon Inside series (3 books)

Buy Now for $20.85

Subscribe on Author and take 20% off on series.

Alex Sapegin

The Dragon Inside Series

Alex Sapegin is a sci-fi and fantasy author who lives in the far eastern city of Khabarovsk in Russia with his wife, two kids, a pet parakeet and an overly confident tomcat.

An electrical engineer by education, Alex Sapegin has had an interesting life with an extensive career in the railway industry and tunnel construction while, at the same time, making time to follow his joy crafting stories.

Alex had a special flair for storytelling from as early as his high-school days, when his peers would eagerly listen to his action-packed stories with their many twists and turns. Naturally, it was only a matter of time before his friends and family persuaded him to put pen to paper, which proved to be a life-changing decision.

His first epic fantasy novel, Becoming the Dragon, now available in English, was originally released in 2010 and instantly became a bestseller all over Russia, the post-Soviet Union and Eastern European countries, shortly followed by three more books of the series: Wings On My BackA Tale of Violence, and Three Wars.

Alex Sapegin is also the author of The Clash, The Pet Story and Diaries of the Morph translated into several languages and soon forthcoming in English. When Alex is not crafting his wonderful stories, he enjoys spending time with his children, skating or fishing.


‘The Dragon Inside’ Series:

‘Becoming the Dragon’

‘Wing On My Back’

‘A Tale of Violence’

‘Three Wars’

‘The Clash’ Series:

‘The Clash. Book 1’

‘The Clash. Cont’d. Book 2’


‘People of Tunnels’

‘The Pet Story’

‘Diaries of the Morph’

Read More