Could you imagine a modern girl transported into a Medieval world?
Could she really take the limitations on her personhood and freedom?
Could she really be content in the role of a damsel in distress?

A Medieval Tale, the bestselling romantic fantasy series by Lina J. Potter, includes five books:

– First Lessons
– The Homework
– Royal Maneuvers
– On the Wrong Side of the Royal Palace
– The Price of Happiness

When a sporty Med school graduate Aliya suddenly dies in a car crash, she finds herself transported into the middle of the Medieval ages, reborn into the body of the heavy-set Countess Lilian Earton. After the initial shock of her sudden death and reincarnation, she realizes that she has been given another opportunity at life. But how is a modern girl to adjust to the limitations of medieval society? How does an empowered medical student adapt to a worldview where women don’t matter? How can Aliya, now Countess Lilian, use her mind and her skills in a society in which outspoken women are accused of being witches? Bringing her modern innovations with her, Countess Lilian makes her own impact on a society needing a push forward in modernity. She does this all while escaping a few assassination attempts and dealing with an errant husband, who has yet to appear on the scene. Thus, Lilian must protect herself, her new friends, and her emerging business empire. She has to tread carefully, as there is a chance she could be praised for her innovations or condemned as a witch for the same.

She will succeed in befriending noblemen, peasants and artisans, untamable sea raiders, proud-spirited merchants of the Orient, even members of the Royal family… But will she manage to see eye to eye with her own husband?

Read to find out whether there will be a happy ever after for Aliya, or Lilian, in Medieval Tale.



Sign up for the Brightly newsletter to get book recommendations, reading tips, and seasonal inspirations.

Pre-order ’First Lessons‘

Welcome to a romantic fantasy with a difference!   Lilian isn’t the kind of girl to play the damsel in distress, and she certainly isn’t going to sit on her hands waiting for her proverbial knight in shining armor to arrive.   Medical school graduate Aliya, a sporty brunette, dies suddenly in a car crash… only to wake up in an unfriendly medieval world as the Rubenesque blonde, Lilian. Realizing that she was given a second chance for a reason, Aliya, now Countess Lilian Elizabeth M


Subscribe on Author and take 20% off on series.

Lina J. Potter

A Medieval Tale Series

Lina J. Potter has been dreaming up stories for as long as she can remember. She started putting her tales on paper when she was around ten years old, and, according to her own words, continued happily scribbling ever since: “Call it inspiration, the voice of a Muse, or plain obsession… but I felt I had to write it down or else my brain would explode with all these characters longing to come alive”.

However, Lina did not feel ready to share her writing with the world until recently, when in 2011 she submitted an extract from her historical fantasy novel, I am Sophia, to an online magazine. Immediately after, Lina J. Potter was approached by e-talent scouts representing publishers and other literary companies. Since then, there was no looking back for Lina J. Potter, who quickly turned into one of the most published and widely talked- about (yet least public!) romantic fantasy authors in the country. Her impressive publications list speaks for itself, and we are thrilled to announce that her first few bestsellers are now available in English.

Nowadays Lina J. Potter lives in the town of Tambov with her husband, daughter and two cats. She has a lot of hobbies, from doing karate to lace- making, but she avoids personal publicity and shies away from the literary limelight, preferring her quiet life to focus on writing. She has a lighthearted approach to writing, but is happy to share with her readers a few simple truths she lives by:

“Never take what you’ve got for granted.

Enjoy every day of your life.

Keep smiling no matter what.”


‘A Medieval Tale’ Series:

First Lessons

The Homework

Royal Plots and Manoeuvres

On the Wrong Side of the Royal Palace

The Price of Happiness

‘I am Sophia’ Series:

I am Sophia. The Sister

I am Sophia. The Princess

I am Sophia. The Empress

‘Amaldea’ Series:

Necromancer. The Daily Pursuits

Necromancer. The Joys of Hard Work

A Wolf Named Hunny Bunny


‘The Cruiser’ Series:

The Cruiser Project

The Heart of the Cruiser

‘The Magic Uni’ Series:

To Study, to Fall in Love… to Take the Dutch Cure?

Summer Internship

The Roots of All Evil

On the Way Home

‘Demi-Demon’ Series:

Demi-Demon. The Revenge of the Princess

Demi-Demon. The King’s Fortune

‘Julia Leoverenskaya’ Series:

Might Makes Right in a Vampire Fight

You Shall Not Make for Yourself a Vampire

The Ring of Frenzy

The Cross and the Wing

Read More